This site is a mirror of the original site, made in 2022 by Heraldry of the World. The original site is unaltered. This mirror functions as an archive to keep the material available on-line.
All rights remain with the late Hubert de Vries, the original site owner.




Back to India


On 10 November 2009 the India government communicated that a new state of Telangana would be created. This decision was ratified on 2 June 2014.

Telangana is the 29th state of India and will also comprise the capital of Andhra Pradesh, Hyderabad, which will be partitioned for the next ten years between the two states.


The first design for the seal of Telangana Government shows Kakatiya Gate in Warangal and the name Telangana in Telugu script.

Legend: GOVERNMENT OF TELANGANA in latin script and in devanagiri and urdu


Below is the Asoka capital with its motto Satyameva Yayate in Telugu script


State emblem of Telangana, 1st design 2012.


The final design shows the same Kakatiya Gate charged with the Asoka capital, enclosing Charminar mosque in Hyderabad, surrounded by the legend GOVERNMENT OF TELANGANA in latin script and in telugu and urdu and the motto Satyameva Yayate in devanagiri below.


See illustration in the head of this essay.


The emblem was designed by Laxman Alley and approved by Telangana Rashtra Samiti chief K Chandrasekhar Rao.


Kakatiya Gate, Warangal


Charminar Mosque, Hyderabad






Back to Main Page


Hubert de Vries 2014-06-03. Updated 2015-11-05


Flag Counter In cooperation with Heraldry of the World